FeaturedInternationalinternational, political, nationalNationalPoliticsUttarakhand

Induction of Ajay Tamta, a triumphant ‘relief’ for CM Dhami     

Listen to this article

Induction of Ajay Tamta, a triumphant ‘relief’ for CM Dhami


Dehradun , June 10

The induction of Ajay Tamta, BJP MP from Uttarakhand who scored a hat-trick of victory for the Almora (reserved) Lok Sabha seat as a Minister of State in the ministry headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi ignoring the claims of some heavyweights claimants point towards the fact that the BJP/RSS high command has decided against propping up any parallel centre of power in the state party politics besides giving representation to the scheduled caste community. Another take away from this induction means that Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami who is the latest heart throb of ‘Sangh Parivar’ has not only consolidated his position post 2024 Lok Sabha elections but had a say in the selection of ministerial candidate from the state.

Ajay Tamta (51) is inducted for the second time as a minister of state in the Union Council of ministers. he has been given an important portfolio of Union minister of State for Surface Transport. He will work as a junior minister of Union Surface Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari.

Earlier, in 2014 when he was elected for the first time from Almora (reserve) seat he surprised everyone by becoming a Minister of State for Textiles. He again won the seat in 2019 but could not find favour as Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, former Uttarakhand Chief Minister from Haridwar and  Ajay Bhatt, MP from Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar became part of Modi-ii team. Later, Nishank was dropped from the cabinet but Bhatt continued as Minister of State for Defence and Tourism.

During the Lok Sabha 2024 elections, BJP dropped two former Chief Ministers namely Ramesh Pokhjriyal Niahsnk and Tirath Singh Rawat from their list of candidates from Haridwar and Pauri Garhwal respectively. Trivendra Singh Rawat, a former Chief Minister who was replaced in 2021 and had been sulking since then was given party ticket from Haridwar while another blue eyed boy of Modi-Shah combine namely Anil Baluni, Media incharge of BJP at the centre was given ticket from Pauri garhwal in place of Tirath Singh Rawat.

The BJP created a record by winning all the five Lok Sabha seats of the state for the third consecutive team. There were widespread speculations even during election campaign that either Trivendra Singh Rawat or Anil Baluni could make it to the union council of ministers. During the election campaign senior BJP leaders including Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Home Minister Amit Shah had assured the electorates of Pauri Garhwal that they would be electing a minister. Similarly, it was also expected that Trivendra Singh Rawat, a former RSS ‘Pracharak’ and close confidante of Amit Shah could be a possible induction in the quota of the former Chief Ministers.

Both, Trivendra Singh Rawat and Anil Baluni were seen as parallel power centres to Chief Minister Pushkar singh Dhami. Trivendra Singh Rawat has been vocal about his opinions of the Dhami government. Interestingly, as the Uttarakhand media kept on waiting for formal photos of winning candidates Trivendra Singh Rawat and Anil Baluni with the Chief Minister after their respective victories but none could be seen in public domain.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami was star campaigner during the Lok Sabha elections of 2024 and campaigned in more than 60 Lok Sabha seats across the country. He was presented as the young face of ‘Hindutva’ politics. Since his elevation by Modi-Shah dispensation as Chief Minister in 2021, he has been able to win their confidence marginalising other BJP leaders from the state. The induction of Ajay Tamta could be seen in this context.

Moreover, the induction of Ajay Tamta is also an attempt to balance the caste equations and placate the Dalits by giving them representation.  Pushkar Singh Dhami is a Rajput from Kumaon while State BJP Chief Mahendra Bhatt is a Brahmin from Garhwal.

Taking lessons from the past where there had been intense power struggle between party leaders of the state since the formation of the state creating political upheavals often, BJP/RSS leadership has decided to pick Ajay Tamta, a Dalit leader who is non-controversial and keeps a low profile.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!