Uttarakhand Congress changes five candidates amidst uncertainty

Listen to this article

Uttarakhand Congress changes five candidates amidst uncertainty


Dehradun , Jan 27

Unsure of its moves, intense infighting  and insecurity amongst its leaders,  has forced the Congress party to  change five of it’s candidates for the Uttarakhand assembly elections which has created a lot of heart burn amongst hopeful party cadres and leaders.

Interestingly, former Chief Minister and Chairman of it’s state campaign committee Harish Rawat got his seat changed from Ramnagar to Lal Kuan. Earlier, he was adamant to contest from Ramnagar from where his once friend turned political foe Ranjit Rawat had dug heels. But, now in the third list released at midnight, Ranjit Rawat has been shifted to Salt in Almora district. Harish Rawat got party nomination for her daughter Anupma Rawat from Haridwar rural seat which he had lost in the 2017 assembly elections.

The party has nominated Om Gopal Rawat, a former  BJP leader who joined Congress two days ago from Narendranagar assembly segment against Subodh Uniyal , a BJP minister. From Doiwala, Manish uniyal Sharma, the Congress candidate has been replaced with  Gaurav Chaudhary. From Jawalapur (reserve) in Haridwar district, Ravi Bahadur has been given party ticket replacing Barkha Rani. From Roorkee, Yashpal Rana has been made Congress candidate. At Chaubattakhal in Pauri Garhwal, where Harak Singh Rawat was hopeful of party nomination, Kesar Singh Negi has been given party ticket.

Harish Rawat gets shifted to Lal Kuan replacing party candidates Sandhya Dalakoti. Mahesh Sharma has been given party ticket from Kaladungi replacing Mahendra Pal Singh who has been shifted to Ramnagar.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!